MPs, Senators sworn in

by | Sep 7, 2023 | Local News | 0 comments

Tafadzwa Nyikadzino

Members of Parliament and Senators who won in the just ended elections from all political parties took their Oath of office today to start serving their terms of office.

The swearing in ceremony was held at the new Parliament Building in Mt Hampden. All 73 legislators from the Citizens Coalition for Change were part of the ceremony even though they are disputing the defeat of their Presidential candidate Nelson Chamisa to President Emmerson Mnangagwa.

The ceremony started with Members of the National Assembly where ZANU PF won 136 seats and CCC got 73 seats out of the contested 209 seats, with Gutu West constituency set to hold a by-election after the death of an independent candidate before the elections.

It was followed by the swearing in of the duly elected Members of the Senate where ZANU PF got 33 senators, and the CCC has 27. Additionally, 18 chiefs and 2 representatives of people with disabilities joined the 60 senators from the two political parties making a total of 80 Senators.

Meanwhile, councillors where also sworn in today at Harare Town House on a ceremony which was marred with incidents of violence.


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



WordPress PopUp Plugin